K-Beauty Expo – Bano White Jade Injection Mask

This year we were given a pack of ten of the Bano White Jade Injection Mask. I have used this before but I decided to do the same thing that I did with the Oka mask and wait until I had used them for a consecutive period of time before doing my review. That way I can see if there is any benefit to using the same mask over time and get a good feel for how the mask performs.

20180430_012837 Edit LR

Bano is the cosmetic brand for Banobagi (바노바기) Clinic. They have four versions of these Injection sheet masks available – Baby Face Injection (Pink), Water Glow Injection (Mint), Anti-Oxident Injection (Yellow) and this one I am reviewing here which is the White Jade Injection (blue). This White Jade Injection Mask is supposed to brighten dull skin.

The packaging is basic but it looks nice and is eye catching. This line of masks has great colors which makes them stand out well. All of the four masks are made with different material so they are all very different to each other.

The mask sheet for the White Jade Injection Mask uses a tencel material. Tencel is a thin, lightweight fabric made of natural cellulose from tree pulp. It’s soft, breathable, comfortable and anti-bacterial all of which make it great for sensitive skin. It also has excellent moisture absorption which helps the penetration of active ingredients to your skin. The mask sheet comes packaged with a plastic backing sheet which makes it easier to unwrap.

I found the fit on this was not the best for me. The eye holes were too small for my liking however my other issue, which is the piece above the mouth and under the nose, was actually okay on this mask. Usually these are too wide and annoy me by going over my upper lip. The other issue was that I thought it was a little slim, there was a small gap on each side of my face where it didn’t quite reach the edge. It was also a tad wrinkly but it still adhered okay and didn’t move around much.  So overall it had some good and some not so good points.

20180906_013926 Edit LR

The mask is soaked in a thin essence but there is not much left oven in the packet. I was not a huge fan of the fragrance of this one. I think it’s a little too strong for a mask that I am putting on my face. It’s not that its a bad scent I just thought it was too much especially since as I mentioned above the eye holes were a bit small. This means that the essence is closer to your eyes and if you are not careful you might end up with some in your eye.

Some of the ingredients include vitamin C, glutathione, niacinamide and licorice root extract for whitening and brightening effect. It also has soothing bamboo water and Milk Protein extract for skin nutrition. allantoin for moisturizing. You can see a full list of ingredients from the website listed below.

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Methylpropanediol, Niacinamide, Bambusa Vulgaris Water, Glutathione, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Milk Protein Extract, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Allantoin, Ascorbic Acid, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Hydroxide, 1,2-Hexanediol, Hydroxyacetophenone, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance

20180619_001310 Edit LR

I found that this mask has a nice cooling effect which I like. I usually leave these masks on from between 20 to 40 minutes. The directions say to leave for 15 to 20 minutes but you can stretch it out to 40 easily enough. You probably wouldn’t want to go longer than that as it is will be getting a bit dry by then.

After removing the mask my face is always a little damp and more so if I only had the mask on for 15 to 20 minutes. You do have to pat it in a bit. The essence dries does to a slight tackiness. I does absorb but it takes a while so I think this is a good night time mask. You don’t really want to be waiting around for it to absorb in the morning.

I found my skin was soft, hydrated It gives a nice glow. Skin looks brighter and has that bouncy feel that you get when your skin is well hydrated.

Out of the four Bano Injection Masks available this would be the one I would be least likely to reach for. Purely because it has whitening in it and I’m just not into that. This mask does also have some moisturizing properties so I didn’t mind using it and trying it out for a bit.

Overall I found this to be a good mask. It had some good moisturizing results and felt nice when I was using it. I didn’t notice any particular benefits to using the same mask over an extended period of time. I used this one every day for a week. I had all the initial benefits so my skin felt moisturized and looked bright after using it but that was it and that’s not too bad of an outcome.

I would use this again and I will surely do so as I have a few that I have bought in the past left in my stash. As I mentioned above it’s not one I would generally reach for but I don’t mind using it every now and again.

You can find out more about this mask and other Bano products on their website http://www.banobagicosmetic.com. The box of 10 retails for 35,000 won on this official website. Bano masks are also sold globally through a variety of third party shops both online and off.

This product was provided to me by the K-Beauty Expo Korea for review purposes. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.

 

 

Leave a comment