K-Beauty Expo – Kicho Ultra Moisturizing Sun Cream SPF50/PA+++

This is another product that I have reviewed in 2017 however I only posted that review on Instagram so I figured this year I would post a full review here on the blog. Instagram can be a bit limiting for reviews as you can only post a certain character count.

I also wanted to make sure I addressed this product again because it was one of my favorites and still remains so. I have used up all of the tube I was sent last year and was glad to get another one this year which I am working my way through at the moment.

IMG_20170704_160702

The Kicho Ultra Moisturizing Sun Cream SPF50/PA+++ is specifically formulated for the face and has both UVA and UVB protection. I feel like this is one of the best SPF 50 sunscreens on the market. Most of the time if you are looking for a sunscreen with a high SPF you have to compromise on something. With their attention to customer needs Kicho have managed to bring us a product that delivers it all.

Kicho means “basic,” (기초) in Korean, and refers to a stripped-back, natural approach to skincare. This one word serves to illustrate the brand’s mission—they seek to strip products of unnecessary, and worse, harmful ingredients. These products don’t seek to thrill through never-before-seen ingredients, but rather stick to high-quality, natural, proven, hypoallergenic ones, sourced from around the world. If you want to find out more about Kicho their website is www.kichocosmetics.com.

The packaging is very simple but luxurious looking; it’s mainly white but with a gold trim. It comes in a handy tube with a pump applicator. I really appreciate the pump as it makes things a whole lot easier, more hygienic and travel friendly. You can see how they have really thought about the packaging and what makes products work. It contains at 1.69 fl. oz of product.

When I first tried this I thought that it might be a bit heavy for me as I don’t like creams and tend to stick to gels. However I was pleasantly surprised at how this cream absorbs into the skin; it feels like a nice moisturizer and during the harsh summer months here in Korea I have just been using this as a moisturizer and sun cream. I don’t feel like I need to use a specific moisturizer as this does the job of both products and if I can keep down the amount of products I put on my skin in the morning I am happy. It’s too hot to have too much on.

Another of the things that I love about this product is the scent. It has a wonderful fresh, delicate, plant-like scent. I’m not sure exactly what to compare it to but every morning when I use it I always think how pleasant and fresh it smells. There is none of the usual SPF scent to be found in this product.

According to the website this sunscreen contains Allantoin and phyto-ingredients for hydration and moisturizing. Natural fermenting yeast ingredients protect the skin from fine dust and encourage skin rejuvenation and regeneration. It has lightweight oils such as sunflower and soybean to condition the skin without leaving a greasy residue and   antioxidants such as broccoli, wheat, ginkgo and green tea.

The following is a full list of ingredients List for Kicho Ultra Moisturizing Sun Cream from the Kicho website.

Water, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Homosalate, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate, Butylene Glycol, Octocrylene, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Cyclopentasiloxane, C20-22 Alkyl Phosphate, C20-22 Alcohols, Silica, 1,2-Hexanediol, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Lipids, Echium Plantagineum Seed Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Phytoplacenta Extract, Origanum Vulgare Leaf Extract, Chamaecyparis Obtusa Leaf Extract, Cardiospermum Halicacabum Flower/Leaf/Vine Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Unsaponifiables Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Camellia Japonica Leaf Extract, Eruca Sativa Leaf Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Sprout Extract, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Sprout Extract, Medicago Sativa (Alfalfa) Leaf Extract, Lactobacillus/Soybean Ferment Extract, Cinnamomum Cassia Bark Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Glycerin Tromethamine, Polyacrylate, Crosspolymer-6, Octyldodecanol, Glyceryl Caprylate, Caprylyl Glycol, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acrylate/Sodium, Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Polyisobutene Ethylhexylglycerin, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Cellulose Gum, Sorbitan Oleate, Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside, Genistein Methyl Ether, Fragrance

The website also points out the issues that often crop up in sun care products – white cast, stickiness, strange scent and non-compatibility with makeup. I like that Kicho have taken the time to think about what the customer wants and have developed a product that addresses these concerns.

I do have to give them credit because this product really lives up to what they say about it. It has no white cast, it absorbs into the skin well and leaves no sticky residue behind, it has a nice fresh pleasant plant scent and it works fine under makeup. For me this is the read deal and I might have to get myself another tube at the expo.

The Kicho Ultra Moisturizing Sun Cream SPF50 PA+++ was sent to me for review purposes by the K-Beauty Expo Korea. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.

Leave a comment