K-Beauty Expo – WishFormula Blackhead & Blackmask Home Spa Kit

Gifted to me through the K-Beauty Expo Korea for review purposes. All products that I am reviewing on behalf of the Expo are from vendors who will be at Kintex this year from 12-15 October.

This review is on the WishFormula Blackhead & Blackmask Home Spa Kit which came in a box of goodies that was sent to me a few weeks ago. I am slowly going through the box and trying everything out. If you want to see more reviews check out my Instagram as I usually post my reviews there first.

 

The Home Spa Kit is a handy little three step program for dealing with blackheads. It is single use and disposable. The specially formulated black mask uses 9 botanical extracts which includes lemon balm, sage, mistletoe, peppermint and burdock root . These help to gently dissolve blackheads and sebum without irritating skin. It is designed to ensure that you don’t get left with red skin like you do with a lot of other blackhead removal products. The kit’s black stick cleanses the skin and extracts blackheads. And the last step is a pore tightening serum. This serum contains a patented ingredient (Albumin), tannins and other effective ingredients such as witch hazel and chamomile that tighten and smooth pores.

The Process

Each step comes individually packaged it its own segment. You can tear them apart down the perforated lines very easily. The foil packages are then able to be ripped open at the designated place. It’s a nice simple design and it makes it easy to transport so ideal for travel.

Step 1. The mask part is two small strips for your nose and chin. These are made of a soft, black, medium thick cotton material. It is soaked in a light essence which is supposed to soften the blackheads and make them easier to remove. I had trouble opening this packet. It’s a tear type sachet but I could only get a corner open. I didn’t want to cut it because I thought I would cut the masks. I managed to pull the masks out through the small hole and luckily the material was thick enough it did not tear. It did mean that a lot of essence was squeezed out in the process. You leave the masks on for about 10 to 15 minutes.

Step 2. Next is the Black Stick which is a large cotton swab. This is used after the mask is taken off to extract the gunk. The previous step should have softened the blackheads which ideally would make them just pop out with a little pressure from the swab. It did work to a certain extent. I think that mine were just a bit too deep so it could not get those ones. Once you are finished this step you can wash your face.

20170227_225918
Step 3. The last step is a Pore Tightening Serum. This is to soothe and refresh the skin after the blackhead extraction. It’s supposed to be for Pore Tightening, Nourishing and Skin Elasticity. It was really nice and light. I think it felt very soothing, it absorbed quickly and was not sticky at all.

The Verdict

I’ve included some close ups of before and after use of this kit.


Overall I think this is a good idea. It should be less traumatic for the skin than the peel off blackhead ones which I don’t like to use. I did however find that I still had to put a lot of pressure on the skin to get the gunk out. I was also left with a lot that did not budge. So for me I think I need something a bit more heavy duty than this.

I think if your skin is generally pretty good and you just have a few blackheads this would probably work fine.

Leave a comment